The Department of Physics at Montana State University will offer six undergraduate research positions for ten weeks from June through August of 2020. These positions are funded through the National Science Foundation’s Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) Program.

Projects will focus on Quantum Physics, Quantum Materials, Condensed Matter, and Optical Physics. Examples include: levitated quantum optomechanics; nano-optics of quantum materials; studies of phase transitions in superconductors, magnetic materials, and H2O ice; experiments on magnetic films and nanostructures; biofilm, corrosion research using imaging and chemical analysis techniques; applied optics and optical storage; quantum computing; and theory of superfluids.

Montana State University - Bozeman
Located in the beautiful Gallatin Valley, 80 miles north of Yellowstone National Park, Bozeman is surrounded by spectacular mountain ranges.  The city has a population of approximately 48,000 people and sits at an average elevation of 4820'. 

Bozeman and the surrounding area offer unparalleled opportunities for biking, hiking, backpacking, climbing, fly fishing, river floating, whitewater rafting and camping.  Bozeman has several museums, including the Museum of the Rockies, a vibrant downtown and self guided historical tours.  For more information on Bozeman the surrounding area, go to

2020 REU Dates - June 1st to August 7th (10 Weeks)

Financial Support - Stipends are $6000 for the 10 Week program.  Round-trip travel coss to Bozeman, on-campus housing and a food allowance will be provided.

Eligibility - Participants must be full-time undergraduates majoring in physics or a related discipline, typically finishing their sophomore, junior or senior years.  Participants must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States.  Applications from under-represented groups are particularly welcome.

Application Materials
Student Application Information Page
Faculty Recommendation Information Page


MSU Logo

For More Information Contact:

Prof. Brian D'Urso
Prof. John Neumeier

NSF Logo