The Physics Machine Shop provides access to precision machining equipment to educators, researchers, and engineers at Montana State University. Often, research experiments, engineering projects, in-class demonstrations, and instructional labs require the fabriation of custom-made parts or specialized modification/repair to existing parts. These fabrication and repair processes often need to be completed an immediate timescale and a small budget that cannot be satisfied by a private, off-campus maching company. The Physics Machine Shop exists to fill these needs for our campus community.


The Physics Machine Shop is managed by the Department of Physics and is located in Room 233 in Banard Hall. To gain access to the machine shop, first please refer to the policies section to learn about access fees, mandatory training, rules, and what you can expect from the machine shop supervisor. Once you are familiar with the policies and fees, you should contact the Machine Shop Supervisor to initiate training and to arrange billing with the Department of Physics.

Machine Shop Supervisor

Tom Jungst Photo

Tom Jungst (starting January 17, 2023)

Email: thomas.jungst@montana.edu

Phone: 406-994-6147

Office:  Barnard Hall, Room 233A


Overview of Resources Available

The Physics Machine Shop is equipped with the following tools and resources:

  1. Manual and computer numerical controlled (CNC) milling machines and lathes for precision machining of metal parts down to thousandths of an inch
  2. Vertical and horizontal band saws for rough-cutting raw materials
  3. A specialized polisher for high-precision machining of ceramics and metals
  4. A simple drill press for adding roughly-positioned holes to parts
  5. A collection of small tools for miscellaneous machining and in-lab tasks
  6. Precision measurement tools (calipers, etc.)
  7. Welding, brazing, and soldering equipment
  8. A store of consumable fasteners

Machine Shop Committee

The machine shop is overseen by the Shops, Space, and Service committee in the Department of Physics. This year, the committee members overseeing the shop are

  • Nick Borys (chair; Physics)
  • John Neumeier (Physics)
  • David Miller (Mechanical Engineering)