Phone: 406-994-6152
Fax: 406-994-4452
EPS Room 264C, MSU, Bozeman, 59717-3840, MT

Related Links:
Ionbeams research group

Selected Honors, Awards, and Public Outreach/Service:

  • 1983 MSU Alumni-Chamber of Commerce Award for Excellence (Lisa Peterson '84)
  • 1998 Wiley Award for Meritorius Research
  • 2007 Provost's Award for Undergraduate Research/Creativity Mentoring
  • 2008 Fellow of the American Vacuum Society 

Biographical Sketch:

  • B.A. 1969 Saint Mary's College, Winona, MN
  • Ph.D. 1975 Iowa State University, Ames, IA
  • 2008 to present: Head, Physics Department, Montana State University
  • 1989 to present: Professor, Physics Department, Montana State University
  • 1987 to 1988: Visiting Scientist FOM Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics, Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 1980 to 1989: Assoc. Professor, Physics Dept., Montana State University
  • 1978 to 1980 Assistant Scientist, Physics Department,Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, New York
  • 1975 to 1977: Post-doctoral Research Assoc., Physics Dept., Montana State University


Professor Smith is using MeV ion backscattering/channeling and electron spectroscopies to determine the atomic structure at solid surfaces and at solid-solid interfaces. At present, the emphasis of this research is on epitaxial growth and the formation of alloys at metal-metal interfaces. Ion beam techniques are also used to measure the oxidation rates and thermal stability of metal surfaces on current collectors in solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) stacks, and to characterize improved anodes for SOFCs.

Selected Publications:

Please visit for a full list of publications.


"Regenerative SOFC Development for Aerospace Technology Platforms" NASA EPSCoR (MSGC) $750,000 Angela DesJardins/PI, Stephen Sofie/Science PI, co-Investigators (Gannon, Idzerda, Shaw, Smith) 9/1/09 to 8/31/12

Academic Responsibilities:

Classes being taught by Dr. Smith this semester are listed below.

Follow the link to find the online content for the class:-